My rite of passage part 1

It was late November 1994 and the schools were closed for the end year holidays.Time chimed by fast, as I helplessly watched every minute tick away threateningly.I was overwhelmed with trepidation and I could have ran for the hills, were it not for the fact that I was surrounded by a homestead full of relatives who had come to witness my circumcision.I was encouraged to sleep,while the men in the hut chatted and laughed over their silly jokes that ranged from their sex lives, to crediting acts of bravery and bashing each other on cowardice actions.The hut was kept warm by the fire they had lit in the middle of the room.A suspended Kerosene lamp together with the flaring flames of the fire achieved lighting.Everybody else except me was in anticipation and practically couldn’t wait for midnight
to come…..part 2

Author: mogesi

Simple guy ready to make a difference through writing

Leave a Reply

