Judge David Maraga nominated Chief Justice.

Judge David Maraga has been nominated as the new Chief Justice of Kenya.

Maraga, 65, will take over from Willy Mutunga, who retired in June 2016 if approved by President Uhuru Kenyatta and the National Assembly.

The Judicial Service Commission announced on Thursday that the CJ will assume office with immediate effect.

The Kisumu-based judge was the third to be interviewed for the

position of the next Chief Justice .

He was among 11 judges shortlisted by the Judicial Service Commission.

During the interviews, Maraga found himself at pains to demonstrate his expertise in applying the law in conflicting suits .

Attorney General Githu Muigai, one of the panelists, put him to the test, seeking to know how he would pass judgment in suits where two or several laws were at conflict.

He used a case study of a surrogate mother who decided not to give a child to its separated biological parents, who were both seeking custody.

Maraga admitted that the question was tricky but answered: “In this scenario, the child’s interest is paramount.”


President Uhuru’s political adviser quits!

A top aide of President Uhuru Kenyatta has resigned, exposing behind-the-scenes intrigues within the Jubilee government.

Nancy Gitau, the head of President Kenyatta’s political advisory unit and a key adviser on governance, tendered her resignation to the Head of State on Monday. It has been established that in her resignation letter delivered to the President’s desk last Monday, she plans to quit next month. Mrs Gitau confirmed her resignation.“I will quit the Government beginning August this year. I wrote to his Excellency the President earlier in the week about this matter. I am leaving the Government a happy woman. I have accomplished a lot since February 2007,” she said.

Gitau is among a team of eight listed in the Presidency’s website as members of the Executive Office of the Presidency. She is named as Senior Political Adviser to the President.

Others in the team are Joseph Kinyua, the President’s Chief of Staff, Jomo Gecaga (President’s Private Secretary), Lawrence Lenayapa (State House Comptroller), George Kariuki (Deputy State House Comptroller), Manoah Esipisu (State House Spokesman), Abdikadir Mohamed (Senior Adviser, Constitutional and Legal Affairs) and Nzioka Waita, Secretary of Delivery, the Presidential Delivery Unit.The resignation is a culmination of a sustained tug-of-war within the Jubilee administration and could well be the beginning of an episode that could give the public a rare peek into the behind-the-scenes power struggle.

Gitau has been at the centre of vicious infighting pitting camps allied to the President’s The National Alliance (TNA) party against the United Republican Party (URP) of his deputy William Ruto.

Because of her power and influence, Gitau has also earned herself enemies within TNA, leaving her exposed. There are incidents where even senior officers at State House on several occasions tried to block her from accessing the President at his State House office.

Similarly, the relations between her and forces around the DP had at one point deteriorated to the extent that some key players within Government felt the stability of the coalition was under threat.

Relations edgy

As a result of the rising tensions, Gitau was moved from State House to Harambee House in the City Centre. She soon thereafter resorted to working from her private office as it increasingly became clear she was unwanted and even some of her close allies dumped her.

Sources say that relations between Gitau and certain players in Government had become so edgy that she felt her stay, even with the support of the President, was no longer tenable. As a consequence, there has emerged, subtly though, two main camps within the Jubilee administration: the pro-Gitau camp and anti-Gitau one.How many more will follow suit?

List of applicants for CJ, Deputy CJ and Supreme Court judges.

The Judicial Service Commission has released a list of applicants for the position of Chief Justice, Deputy Chief Justice and Supreme Court judges.

As at 5.00pm July 6 2016, the Commission had received 15 applications for the position of the Deputy Chief Justice and 20 for the Supreme Court Judge position. As at 5.00pm July 8 2016, the Commission has received 14 applications for the position of the Chief Justice.

The names of applicants in the respective positions are as follows;


1. Justice Alnashir Visram

2. Lady Justice Roselyne N. Nambuye.

3. Justice Mbogholi Msagha

4. Prof. Makau Mutua

5. Justice Smokin Wanjala

6. Mr. David Mwaure Waihiga

7. Justice David Maraga

8. Dr. Isaac Rutenberg

9. Rtd Justice Aaron Ringera

10. Mr. Philip Nzamba Kitonga

11. Ms. Lucy Wanja Julius

12. Justice Prof. Jackton Ojwang

13. Mr. Kongani Udoto Kongani Paul Andrew

14. Amb. Daniel Wambura


1. Lady Justice Hannah Okwengu

2. Lady Justice Justice Abida Ali Aroni

3. Lady Justice Agnes Murgor

4. Lady Justice Wanjiru Karanja

5. Lady Justice Philomena Mwilu

6. Lady Justice Fatuma Sichale

7. Lady Justice Lydia Achode

8. Lady Justice Pauline Nyamweya

9. Lady Justice Martha Koome

10. Lady Justice Roselyne N. Nambuye

11. Ms. Surinder Kapila

12. Ms. Pamela Mwikali Tutui

13. Ms. Joyce Miguda Majiwa

14. Hon. Judith Wanjala

15. Mr. David Mwaure Waihiga


1. Lady Justice Martha Koome

2. Lady Justice Agnes Murgor

3. Lady Justice Wanjiru Karanja

4. Lady Justice Philomena Mwilu

5. Lady Justice Roselyne Nambuye

6. Lady Justice Fatuma Sichale

7. Justice Mbogholi Msagha

8. Lady Justice Pauline Nyamweya

9. Justice Alnashir Visram

10. Justice Isaac Lenaola

11. Justice Joseph Kiplangat Sergon

12. Justice Erastus Githinji

13. Justice Luka Kimaru

14. Hon. Judith Wanjala

15. Mr. David Mwaure Waihiga

16. Prof. Kevin Faustine O. Mare

17. Mr. John Chebii Kipkoech

18. Ms. Pamela Mwikali Tutui

19. Dr. Kibaya I. Laibuta

20. Dr. Isaac Rutenberg

21. Ms. Joyce Miguda Majiwa

The Commission will review applications for completeness and conformity with the necessary requirements within 14 days and follow due process for appointment.